Committees and Clubs

Below are the various committees and clubs within New Mark Commons. For more information about each committee, contact the Chair.

Architectural Control Committee

John Hansman, Chair, 301-340-3198; Tim Petros, Board Liaison
Meets the first Monday of each month at 7:15 p.m.
The ACC is responsible for ensuring the integrity of our architecture. The committee reviews homeowner applications to make changes and repairs to homes in our community and helps homeowners comply with our covenants.

This committee also works to ensure that our community is well maintained by encouraging homeowners to maintain their properties and to assist in overseeing the maintenance and enhancement of common areas. In response to his communications with several residents, Chuck Aubertin, the Rockville City Housing Codes Inspector responsible for New Mark, provided this summary/guidance about Fallen Trees on Private Property. For more info, email

Communications Committee

Pat Reber, Chair, 301-424-8164; Alex Belida, Board Liaison, 301-424-8164
Meets the second Wednesday of each month at 7:30 p.m.
This committee coordinates New Mark Commons’ publications, including paper and electronic newsletters, the directory, our broadcast email system and the website. For more info, email

Governance Committee

Board of Directors created Governance Committee to review and propose changes to New Mark’s Covenants and By-Laws. For more information, go the Governance Committee page in the Resident Area. Their email address is

Landscape, Tree and Lake Committee

Board liaison, Lisa Halvorson
Meets the third Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m.
Our landscape, lake, and trees are a vital part of our New Mark Commons community. Essential support is provided by the recently consolidated Landscape, Tree and Lake Committee. Additional members are welcome. For more info, email
Landscape Committee Mission, Tree Policies and Rules

Lake – Subcommittee of Landscape

Lori Nicely, Chair, 703-869-9572; Kathleen Moran, Board Liaison, 301-294-9582
Meets the third Thursday of the month at 7:00 p.m.

Pool and Swim Team Committee

Click Here For information on Pool Use and Rules
Nancy Wood, Chair, 240-626-3284; Sam Scheib, Board Liaison
Swim Team Representative: Peggy Metzger, 301-838-0191,
This committee works with the Administrator on pool enhancements and plans the swim team program. For more info, email